Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission Nominations

Safety Commission Nominations

On May 25, Governor Hickenlooper signed Senate Bill 18-167 into law. This bill included the creation of the Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission, effective August 8, 2018.

In order to assist in preventing damage to underground facilities, this commission is charged with the following tasks:

  • Making recommendations regarding:
    • Best practices and training
    • Policies to enhance public safety
    • Policies to improve efficiency and cost savings to the 811 program
  • Reviewing complaints of alleged violations and ordering appropriate remedial action/penalties

How to Apply

Applications for the Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission are now being accepted.

Apply for the Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission

The Underground Damage Prevention Safety Commission will include 15 people from the following categories. Those selected to serve on the commission will do so for a term of three years except for the initial appointment terms noted below.

Nomination CategoryNominated by# of Representatives on the Commission
County*Colorado Counties, Inc.1
Municipality*Colorado Municipal League1
Special District*Special District Association of Colorado1
Energy Producer*Colorado’s Energy Industry1
Contractor*Colorado Contractors Association1
Excavator**Excavator Members of the Notification Association2
Engineer**American Council of Engineering Companies of Colorado1
Investor-Owner Utility**Investor-Owner Utilities1
Rural Electric Cooperative**Colorado Rural Electric Association1
Pipeline Company**Colorado Pipeline Association1
Telecommunications and Broadband CompanyColorado Telecommunications and Broadband Industry1
Water UtilityColorado Water Utility Council1
TransportationDepartment of Transportation1
Farming/RanchingCommissioner of Agriculture1

*One-year initial appointment

**Two-year initial appointment

The Governor will appoint the initial members of the Safety Commission by January 1, 2019, and nominations received from the associations, agencies and industries listed below will be taken into consideration during the selection process.